HAPPY FIRST DAY OF SUMMER – Solstice Officially 11:24pm in US Central Time, Tuesday 20 June 2017

The paper calendar (with scenic tropical island pictures) hanging on one of my walls notes the First Day of Summer to be Wednesday 21 June 2017 – I’m assuming for UT (Universal Time) 4:24am Wednesday 21 June 2017. Only by slanting the news in The Twilight Zone with 36 minutes before midnight can the claim be made it is today instead of tomorrow. What’s the rush? Weather conditions gave us the real first day of summer over a month ago, with spring having arrived last week of February when the Dogwood trees got their white flowers about 6 weeks sooner than usual. I’m guessing diabolical forces captured and waterboarded the groundhog on Thursday 2 February 2017, now being held by President Trump at Guantánamo Bay as a suspected terrorist and enemy combatant.

About 2:30pm CT as I write this. Current temperature 90F. Because the humidity is below 40% at 37% there is no heat index at this time. The sky is clear. Wind barely there at 7 mph out of the south. Although ozone is moderate, my bronchial asthma has been much worse then usual with severe coughing and feeling like a  huge weight on my chest. No chance of rain in forecast for next few days – but that could change. A severe t-storm could pop up, and perhaps with it one of those tourist tornadoes offering free rides to Kansas.

My partly flipped schedule day on a kind of split shift began early while cool enough outside to open up windows and doors to let in fresh air – under 80F during the summer I do that, and last night low early this morning was 67F. Doing most of my cooking early, I had a Hungry Man fried chicken dinner about an hour before sunrise. I’ll have cold meals and snacks until same time tomorrow. Drinking a lot of water to avoid dehydration. Making sure the cats have plenty of food and water. I’ve installed a shade canopy over the private balcony of my 2nd level apartment (faces south). I’ve moved my plants out there. Also I set up a small table and chair for enjoying the nights. Filled the bird feeder and bowl pf water for the birds. A certain frequently visiting Blue Jay likes that. I’ll “siesta” for a couple of hours during peak heat, 4pm-6pm, and to partly make up for being up late night/early morning.

No special plans. I’m looking forward to watching America’s Got Talent on NBC TV tonight.

I’ve been doing some “spring cleaning” today while listing to KOMA 92.5 FM Classic Rock.

“Summer Nights” is a popular song from the musical Grease. Written by Jim Jacobs and Warren Casey, its best-known version was recorded by John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John for the big-screen adaptation of the musical, and released as a single that same year. “Summer Nights” became a massive hit in both the United States and United Kingdom during the summer of 1978. Included on the movie’s soundtrack album, the song was one of several hit singles from the movie. Parts of the song were introduced to a new audience when it was re-released in the 1990’s as part of a megamix of several songs from the movie version. [Summer of 1978 – I was age 22 then.]

Reported by Jim Lantern in Norman Oklahoma USA

LANTERN TIMEGLASS JOURNAL

Tuesday afternoon – 20 June 2017

Categories: Calendar Events | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Comments/Feedback:

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

