CHIPs Movie

I don’t need to see the movie to know it is bad – seeing the movie trailer was bad enough.

Instead of a normal review, I posted a comment under the Fox News article about it…

MOVIES

‘CHIPS’ movie falls flat with critics

…Here is a copy of my comment there…

I watched the original CHIPs from its beginning in September 1977 when I was age 21. I recently watched the movie trailer and considered it to be an insult to the original series, a silly spoof instead of a serious remake. Some of the TV shows I liked during the 60’s and 70’s I’ve recently had time to watch reruns on a cable TV channel for such oldies. My perception of good drama now is different than my perception of drama long ago. Some shows have stood the test of time. Some have not. The original CHIPs is still good. The original Hawaii Five-O has stood the test of time and is still excellent drama. Unlike the new version in which the characters are sometimes so cocky that they are unrealistic – distracting from good stories. The exception for comparison is the new version of Star Trek movies in which characters can be cocky within good drama. I prefer on-the-edge serious drama – like the newer version of Battlestar Galactica compared to the original. I can still enjoy the 1978 original, but the 2004 version is worthy of great respect – except the final episode. LOST had the same on-the-edge serious drama, but the final episode was unworthy. In episode 1 of season 1 of The Walking Dead, Rick confronts the half remains of a “walker” zombie in a public park or field. I was hooked when he said to it, “I’m sorry this happened to you.” Then I was locked in for the duration when in the season 1 final a CDC doctor presented the scientific facts of the zombie apocalypse virus. Seven years later, it still never lets up. THAT is the kind of on-the-edge drama that a present day movie version of CHIPs should have been! The key test for all is the answer to one question: Does it make me CARE about what happens to the characters? If No, then I lose interest. If Yes, then I’ll keep watching.

The original TV show opening credits and excellent music theme…

Review by Jim Lantern

LANTERN TIMEGLASS JOURNAL

Sunday evening, 26 March 2017

+ + +

Categories: movie review | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “CHIPs Movie

  1. Great review and well written! Mind dropping a follow at http://www.tvandcity.com ? We’re a new site trying to gain traction.

    Like

    • Thanks. I don’t see a Follow button. There are two kinds from widgets – to follow via email or to follow in Reader (or do both). Interesting design theme the way your site works on the surface and perhaps you should keep that part of it, but it needs more widgets to access after opening it up for in depth. Get a Twitter account if you don’t already have one, and use the WordPress Twitter widget to link it to your site. Use Twitter to attract more readers. It works fairly well. Forget Facebook for that – it’s useless. You may post a link to your Twitter account here in Comments, and I’ll follow there too.

      Like

Comments/Feedback:

Blog at WordPress.com.

