My Opinion and What I Know: The Truth about Dianetics and Scientology

An event caused me to publish a series of comments this morning [as Jim Lantern] under an E! article online about actress Leah Remini and her past involvement with Scientology – a TV special created by her about it to be on A&E tonight at 9pm CT 10pm ET. But I don’t get A&E on the CATV deal I presently have with Cox, so I’ll not get to see it. One of the reasons I created Timeglass Journal at WordPress is to have a place to post my opinions instead of as comments under articles of other websites, where I can be censored or deleted, and where trolls can more easily attack me. I do have a bad habit of overkill – writing something longer than it perhaps should be, so it works better at my site than as comments too long at other sites like the E! (entertainment news) website. I made this an exception and published it as a comment in three main parts. I’m just waiting to see how well received it is under the E! article and if it will be censored or get reply comments. Unlike my site with only a few hundred readers per day on average according to stats, the E! website gets millions of readers. What I wrote is extremely controversial, and after some E! readers recover from the shock of it I’m expecting some feedback there, maybe more here – positive and negative. Here it is in full…

+

I briefly met Kirstie Alley during childhood when one of her relatives of same family name lived in the same neighborhood I did in Wichita and was one of my best friends. One word describes Kirstie back then: Rebel. I read Battlefield Earth when it was released in 1982. I was surprised I’d never heard of L. Ron Hubbard because of the number of science fiction novels and short stories of his published up to that time. I liked the novel. The movie left out too much of what I thought was the best of the story. It would have been better as a miniseries on TV. Soon after reading Battlefield Earth, I happened to notice a special display at the bookstore for the Dianetics book in paperback. I bought it. Found it interesting. I made contact with a woman in Wichita who wanted hundreds of dollars to put me through the process, so it initially was the cost that turned me away from it.

Then I did some research on Hubbard at the Wichita Public Library, found his detailed biography in the library basement archives. What I read surprised me. His first profession long before becoming a science fiction author was as a parole officer with his own office on West Douglas in Wichita. He became sympathetic about people adjusting back to normal day-to-day living after spending time in prison. He developed Dianetics as a means to help them let go of the past, live in the present, plan for the future. Dianetics was nothing more than that in its true beginning. Many years later, that biography was illegally removed from the library and not returned by Kirstie Alley after she became involved with the Church of Scientology, a story about it in the local newspaper. Out of fear of her and the church the city declined to press charges. There was a kickback of over a million dollars when the city allowed her to set up a branch of the church in Wichita. The church engaged in history revision about Hubbard’s past in Wichita as a parole officer and the true beginning and purpose of Dianetics.

Hubbard never intended Dianetics to become part of a church. However, at a science fiction convention, he joked with Isaac Asimov and Robert A. Heinlein about how easy it would be for him to create a whole new religion and get rich off of it because of how gullible most people are. He did not intend to do it for real, He intended it to be a new novel as he was impressed with Heinlein’s future history and background history of his novel Revolt in 2100 – about the rise of a theocracy in America after election 2016, which Heinlein predicted and warned about as far back as 1940. A relative of Hubbard was interviewed on CBS News 60 Minutes, telling the truth about the origin of the church. Hubbard died from a brain tumor. The people who legally took control of his property tried to make it look like he was still alive and publishing new material. They created the church, not Hubbard. They engaged in history revision about Hubbard, the origin of the church, the origin of Dianetics and its purpose. What few people know is the church became a UFO cult – for members after paying thousands of dollars to reach the top level and then become informed about aliens who would return to Earth to then take top members to their home planet. I do believe in some of the Ancient Aliens theories presented in the series on The History Channel. I believe taking thousands of dollars from gullible people to promise them a trip to the home planet of the aliens after they return to Earth is a scam. I believe the original purpose of Dianetics does work fairly well, and can be expanded to the needs of many different people – not just people released from prison, but the price is excessive and cuts out low income people who need it the most. With a few honest changes, and no longer catering to rich people, the church could be transformed from a partial scam to something useful to our society, which could result in them taking in more money than they presently do.

+

That’s it.
Here’s the E! article link, and maybe my comments will still be under it there if not censored or deleted.

Editorial Article by Jim Lantern
LANTERN TIMEGLASS JOURNAL
Tuesday morning, 29 November 2016

+ + +

Categories: Editorial Articles | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Comments/Feedback:

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

