Cupid

It happens. Once -in-a-while. No apparent reason or source. Suddenly a melody gets stuck in my mind, for which I don’t recall the name of the song, as well as all or most of the lyrics. Also, not remembering the name of the singer. In this case I knew it to be single male singer, not a band. I knew the title to be a single name, and kept guessing wrong – such as “Venus” – as I searched for it. Fairly sure it to be from early 1960’s. I now know it was released in May 1961 when I was only 5 years old, and so I probably didn’t hear or notice it until many years later. Perhaps when I repaired juke boxes at bars and clubs from 1976 to 1986, and a customer probably requested it. Or when renting juke boxes to private weekend parties in homes and rented halls, putting them on free-play, programming them with requested 45 rpm records, delivering them, and being on call for any needed repairs. Anyway, about the time I quit trying to remember it yesterday, I suddenly remembered the name of the song. Cupid. Here it is, the original by Sam Cooke…

Posted by Jim Lantern
LANTERN TIMEGLASS JOURNAL
3:00pm CT Thursday 10 November 2016

+ + +

Categories: Music, Music Videos, Songs | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Comments/Feedback:

Blog at WordPress.com.

