All the Pretty Horses

LANTERN TIMEGLASS JOURNAL

Jim Lantern

Entertainment – Movie

Friday 16 September 2016

I was looking for something good to watch on TV tonight. Found a movie listed I’d not heard of before, so I’ve not seen it yet. I might do an update here if I review it after watching it.

From TV Guide…

1-all-the-pretty-horses

All The Pretty Horses

  • 7:00 PM CT on GetTV – 216 (Cox CATV Oklahoma City), 2 hr 15 min 2000
  • Matt Damon and Henry Thomas play two buddies in post-WWII Texas who head for Mexico in search of work as old-fashioned cowboys. Alejandra: Penelope Cruz. Jimmy: Lucas Black. Directed by Billy Bob Thornton.

I see it’s got a good cast, director, and plot, so I’ll give it a look.

It got bad reviews and lost money at the box office, so no wonder I never heard of it. Also, the title would normally not have got my attention. The TV Guide description is slightly different and perhaps misleading compared to the information at Wikipedia about it. The movie trailer does give it some hope. I’m more of a fan of westerns than horses, and modern time westerns are sometimes interesting. I was only on a horse one time – at about age 10 in 1966 when visiting a ranch owned by an aunt (one of my mother’s sisters) and her husband. Two minutes after getting on it, it found a snake in the grass, went crazy, and I nearly became an astronaut. I’ve not been on a horse since then. Also, it turned out I’m extremely allergic to hay and horse hair.

In 2000, when the moviee was released, my stepfather had died, left some money – I used to return to college for 2 years taking business and computer courses. I didn’t go out to many movies during 2000 and 2001.

all_the_pretty_horses_poster

All the Pretty Horses

Movie released 25 December 2000 – Wikipedia Article – Excerpts…

Cast:

About:

All the Pretty Horses is a 2000 American romance western film directed by Billy Bob Thornton and based on Cormac McCarthy‘s novel of the same name. The film received mostly negative reviews and grossed only $18 million worldwide, against a $57 million budget.

Plot:

In 1949, young cowboy John Grady Cole’s maternal grandfather dies. John had grown up on his grandfather’s ranch, but it was put up for sale when the old man died. His mother has no ties to it anymore, and would rather have the money. With no home, John asks his best friend Lacey Rawlins to leave his family ranch in San Angelo, Texas and join him to travel on horseback to cross the border 150 miles south, to seek work in Mexico. They encounter a peculiar 13-year-old boy named Jimmy Blevins on the trail to Mexico, whom they befriend but from whom they then separate. Later on they meet a young aristocrat’s daughter, Alejandra Villarreal, with whom Cole falls in love.

Movie trailer:

+ + +

Categories: Entertainment, Movies, TV | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Comments/Feedback:

Blog at WordPress.com.

