NBC TV time-delayed [CENSORED] Trump but not Clinton during “live” Commander-in-Chief Forum broadcast 8-9pm ET Wednesday 7 September 2016

LANTERN TIMEGLASS JOURNAL

Jim Lantern

Editorial Article

Night of Wednesday 7 September 2016

* * * SPECIAL REPORT * * *

NBC TV time-delayed [CENSORED] Trump but not Clinton during “live” Commander-in-Chief Forum broadcast 8-9pm ET Wednesday 7 September 2016.

Not many viewers would know this. How do I know it happened? I use two TVs. I have a 13-inch TV I usually use to monitor (with sound muted) news, weather, sports, while watching a primary interest on my 26-inch TV. Likewise I sometimes watch MSNBC or FNC (Fox News Channel) or CNN on my 26-inch, while monitoring one of the other two on my 13-inch. Tonight, I had MSNBC on my 13-inch TV with sound muted, while watching NBC on my 26-inch TV. Both provided the exclusive “live” broadcast of the Commander-in-Chief Forum, 8pm ET to 9pm ET. It was billed as a Clinton-Trump face-off, but later revealed they would not be on stage at the same time together. A coin was tossed. Trump won the decision – he decided to go second. The first half hour (actually 25 minutes) was the interview of Hillary Clinton with a few questions from the audience there.

I could see the broadcast of Clinton was same on MSNBC as on NBC. No time delay.

When Trump was interviewed, there was no time delay on MSNBC, which made the time delay on NBC very noticeable. NBC delayed his words by about 5 seconds – enough time to censor any foul language not allowed by network censors for  NBC but may be allowed on cable MSNBC.

Sometimes MSNBC, FNC, and CNN time delay live coverage of some events to cut out language and violent shocking scenes. For example, someone might fall from a building to their death. Fear of them being seen splattering on the ground is prevented by the time delay to cut it out so viewers can’t see the gore.

I report this because they did not time delay Hillary Clinton. That is a fact. They did time delay Donald Trump. That too is a fact – I could clearly see by comparison between MSNBC on one TV and NBC on the other TV. No such difference when Clinton was on. Fair? No. Unreasonable censorship? Yes. Networks like NBC, CBS, and ABC still have the family hour with stronger censorship of language, violence, and sexual situations. Allowing more of that during the third prime-time hour 10pm-11pm ET. If they were so concerned about the language issue, then they should have scheduled the forum for 10pm instead of 8pm ET. Trump does have a history of using some foul language during the campaign so far, and even before. It’s not as big an issue at political rallies as it might be if done during a live prime-time broadcast during family hour. Clinton’s team has produced at least one attack commercial against Trump for his foul language, but bleeping it out.

It turned out none of Trump’s words were bleeped out for foul language. The time delay was not necessary.

So, who won the forum tonight, Clinton or Trump? My opinion – my observation: Clearly, Trump handled the questions better and calmer than Clinton did. Trump enjoyed it. Clinton didn’t. For substance, for the answers, Trump did slightly better.

Fact is, I’m not a fan of either. For it to have been a fair forum, our third choice, Gary Johnson, Libertarian Party – former Republican twice elected governor of a blue Democrat state, should have been allowed to participate. The three candidates should have been spread out from a 1-hour forum to a 2-hour forum. To snub a legitimate candidate, a reasonable third choice, based on polls alone, is the worst kind of censorship. In that way, all of Johnson’s words were censored. We didn’t get to hear what he might be like as our next Commander-in-Chief.

Another fact is the majority of Americans are opposed to Clinton and Trump! Gallup polling in 2010, when the Census was completed, found 31% of Americans identified as Democrats (tying a 22-year low), 29% as Republicans, and 38% as Independents – the new majority!. Nevertheless, more American Independents leaned to the Republican Party when compared to the Democratic Party. In another polling in 2010, 40% of American voters identify themselves as conservatives, 36% as moderates and 22% as liberals, with a strong majority of both liberals and conservatives describing themselves as closer to the center than to the extremes. Libertarians are liberal on personal and social issues while being conservative on economy and government issues, averaging out to be a variation of Centrist, as perhaps the best of both worlds. Not Democrats. Not Republicans. From the percentage of Independent voters. The majority, in fact, not a minority! The mainstream news media needs to awaken from its ongoing two-party fantasies to see the reality of today’s third choice.

“In a time of universal deceit, telling the truth is a revolutionary act.” – George Orwell.

I hate unreasonable censorship. What NBC TV did tonight was not justified. Worse, it was not fair to assume Clinton would never use foul language but Trump likely would. Both deserved the same time delay treatment, or no time delay at all. MSNBC didn’t do it. NBC did. Shame on NBC. I hope NBC does not treat the candidates the same way during the first presidential debate on Monday 26 September 2016.

The following paragraphs have been excerpted from the 1986 Baen Book printing of Robert A. Heinlein’s novel titled “Revolt in 2100” –from the story titled “If This Goes On—”:

  • I was kept busy but my work was fill-in work, since I was awaiting assignment. I had time to dig into the library and I looked up Tom Paine, which led me to Patrick Henry and Thomas Jefferson and others – a whole new world was opened up to me. I had trouble at first in admitting the possibility of what I read; I think perhaps  of all things a police state  can do to its citizens, distorting history is possibly the most pernicious. For example, I learned for the first time that the United States had not been ruled by a bloodthirsty emissary of Satan before the First Prophet arose in his wrath and cast him out – but had been a community of free men deciding their own affairs by peaceful consent. I don’t mean that the first republic had been a scriptural paradise, but it hadn’t been anything like what I had learned in school.
  • For the first time in my life I was reading things which had not been approved by the Prophet’s censors, and the impact on my mind was devastating. Sometimes I would glance over my shoulder to see who was watching me, frightened in spit of myself. I began to sense faintly that secrecy is the keystone of all tyranny. Not force, but secrecy . . . censorship. When any government, or any church for that matter, undertakes to say to its subjects, “This you may not read, this you must not see, this you are forbidden to know,” the end result is tyranny and oppression, no matter how holy the motives. Mighty little force is needed to control a man whose mind has been hoodwinked; contrariwise, no amount of force can control a free man, a man whose mind is free. No, not the rack, not fission bombs, not anything—you can’t conquer a free man; the most you can do is kill him.
  • My thoughts did not then fall into syllogisms; my head was filled with an inchoate spate of new ideas, each more exciting than the last. I discovered that travel between the planets, almost a myth in my world, had not stopped because the First Prophet had forbidden it as a sin against the omnipotence of God; it had ceased because it had gone into the red financially and the Prophet’s government would not subsidize it.

+ + +

 

Categories: Editorial Articles, Election 2016, Special Reports | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Comments/Feedback:

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

