If your soul – spiritual identity – were to be converted to music, melody, song, instrumental, or soundtrack – what would it be?

LANTERN TIMEGLASS JOURNAL

Jim Lantern

2 September 2016

Special Interest Inquiry – Soul to Music – Twitter hashtag #SoundtrackOfYourSoul – but it not limited to movie theme soundtracks – any music genre is acceptable.

If your soul – spiritual identity – were to be converted to music, melody, song, instrumental, or soundtrack – what would it be?

Who are YOU in music – in the form of melody, song, instrumental, or soundtrack? A specif song or instrumental, or a genre in general?

Have you ever encountered music, a song, melody, instrumental, or soundtrack for which you can say, “That’s me!”?

Any special reason why? Explanation? How did you happen to discover it?

Please participate in Comments under this posting, or at Twitter via the special new hashtag for this subject. Thanks.

As for me…

It’s taken 60 years of living to realize what it is. I discovered it a few years ago. It stuck in my mind and soul, but I did not yet realize how closely it fits my soul, my spirit, my spiritual identity – that which and who I really am apart from physical body. As of September 1st – yesterday – this year – I realized what it is. I was working on something else when I encountered it again.

Boccherini – La Música Nocturna de Madrid

Also, Master and Commander: Far Side of the World happens to be one of my favorite movies.

If I were to be converted to music, then this would be it. I’ve always sensed something special about it. Something about it feels fun. I sense a bit of humor in it. Happy endings, although perhaps bittersweet – a happy ending but not achieved without great loss, suffering, hardship – overcome, a victory of a kind however limited if not total. History turns a page, but the voyage has not ended – the great adventure is not over – there is more to experience beyond the visible horizon. Meantime, feeling content – somewhat, at peace – perhaps – for a while. Until the next storm.

“Eat, drink, and be merry, for tomorrow we die” is a combination of two biblical sayings. Ecclesiastes 8:15, ‘Then I commended mirth, because a man hath no better thing under the sun, than to eat, and to drink, and to be merry.” Isaiah 22:13, “Let us eat and drink; for to morrow we shall die.” There have been some some humorous variants, since the originals. I’ve even gone so far as to modify Genesis to be, “On the First Day, God created MUSIC, without which nothing else would be possible. It is true, entire worlds and people can be created within a single song, like a novel or short story, even a whole universe, another galaxy – far away long ago. POOF! Here we are! Or perhaps God brings your soul into existence by playing a musical instrument or singing. Fun food for thought. You don’t have to take it seriously. Just enjoy the possibility.

It becomes more interesting when considering the people who themselves create music – the artists – writers, and performers. A reflection of their own souls, spirits, spiritual identities? Perhaps there are others for whom the music identifies – others who share the same music identity as me. More than one soul can claim the same song as being who they are. Fellow travelers. Soulmates. Harmony. So it is possible another person can say my selection fits them too. You are the music. We are the music.

Also to consider, the role musical instruments play as part of an identity. Are you more of drums, or of stringed instruments, or of wind instruments? More bass or treble? Kinds of voices – baritone, soprano, or tenor? A way of further describing your soul.

Each of us, our lives, like musical notes and words of song. This is different from what your favorite music is, song, melody, instrumental, or soundtrack. I’ve liked a variety of music – including Rock, Pop, and especially movie soundtracks, but Classical has not been at the top. It is possible to like one song within a genre but not be a fan of the overall genre -r just like some of it – perhaps just of some artists -some performers. This is about who you are in that form – music, whatever genre. Who I am. And I have found ME in this music. So here is ME as an example. My soul, my spirit, my spiritual identity is of this music…

+ + +

Categories: Movies, Music, Songs, Spiritual | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Comments/Feedback:

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

