A New Star Shines on Earth: Baby Yaga + her first music video – DREAMER

Special Posting and Music Review by Jim Lantern, Lantern Timeglass Journal

Thursday 28 July 2016

A New Star Shines on Earth: Baby Yaga + her first music video – DREAMER 

I found out about this as result of her following me at Twitter, which is what got my attention, as I was checking my Twitter account at the start of this day. Something about it caused me to go back to the alert at Twitter to give it another look. Then I followed back…

@iambabyyaga FOLLOWS YOU

  • “Singer. Songwriter. (I’m cute, but creepy, yes I’m creepy and cute! And if you’re not nice, I will kick you with my boot! Salut!)”

Twitter Hashtags #BabyYaga and #electropop

…If you Google Search “Baby Yaga” Google directs you to “Baba Yaga.” Read the Wikipedia article about that other subject…

…Here is an excerpt…

  • In Slavic folklore, Baba Yaga is a symbol for the ancient grandmother cults (or one of a trio of sisters of the same name) who appears as a deformed and/or ferocious-looking woman. Baba Yaga in more modern times is a witch who flies around in a mortar, wields a pestle, and dwells deep in the forest in a hut usually described as standing on chicken legs (or sometimes a single chicken leg). Baba Yaga may help or hinder those that encounter or seek her out. She sometimes plays a maternal role, and also has associations with forest wildlife. According to Vladimir Propp’s folktale morphology, Baba Yaga commonly appears as either a donor or villain, or may be altogether ambiguous.

Or perhaps she does not show her age at all…

To find “Baby Yaga” via Google Search I had to use “Dreamer Baby Yaga” to get the desired result. The same is true for Bing Search. Maybe the special posting of this music review will help get her better Google and Bing Search results directly for “Baby Yaga” instead of the forced “Baba Yaga” results.

Find her at Facebook as Baby Yaga. Excerpts…

  • The Swedish born musician, studied music at RYTMUS in Stockholm before traveling to Paris, Milan, London and New York – finally settling in Los Angeles.
  • With a name born from the mythical, forest dwelling creature, Baby Yaga, it’s no surprise that she comes to each of her musical endeavors with an altogether unique perspective.

Her first music video – DREAMER – is a surprise. When it begins, it first appears to be one thing, then becomes something completely unexpected, and then ends with a twist – fitting the title of the song. I tend to like what is not predictable. Not always, but when well done. The ghost of Rod Serling, creator of The Twilight Zone, and the writers of the newer version of The Outer Limits, would no doubt praise it for the bizarre story presented. A kind of horror story nightmare, rather than a just a dream. Here it is via YouTube…

The music (as well as the singing) in the video is also excellent.

A few years ago, I happened upon Alison Goldfrapp of Goldfrapp at YouTube, became a fan, and discovered I like electropop music. At that time, my interest in music expanded to artists in other countries. Some artists I discovered I like I’d previously never heard of. Goldfrapp is classified at Wikipedia as…

…The first Goldfrapp music video that hooked me is titled Number 1. Then the bizarre music video titled Ride On A White Horse got my attention. Her music and videos cover a wide range of subjects. I’d guess Baby Yaga (or perhaps Baba Yaga) might like the one titled A&E.

Categories: Music, Music Review, Music Videos, Songs, Special Postings | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Comments/Feedback:

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

