Hell On Wheels – Series Final – AMC TV – Tonight – Saturday 23 July 2016

Special Article – Entertainment – TV

by Jim Lantern, Lantern Timeglass Journal

Saturday 23 July 2016

Hell On Wheels – Series Final – AMC TV – Tonight – Saturday 23 July 2016

Series Final – not Season Final. This is the end. An inevitable end, considering the history of the railroad construction in this series. Once completed, the basic story concludes. But what happens to the main characters beyond that? Might it be worth a new series, a spin-off? Perhaps. Unlikely it will be continued in any form, but if it were then I’d certainly watch it.

Hell On Wheels has been television at its best, even exceeding quality of most movies. Excellent acting. Excellent story telling. Excellent drama. Real history mixed with fictional characters and real people from the history of those real events. Well done. Hell On Wheels is certainly in the Top 10 of my favorite TV shows of all time – I might rank it at Number 2. The Walking Dead series also on AMC TV holds the Number 1 rank. Vikings on The History Channel mixing fiction with real history is worthy of the Number 3 rank.

AMC has had a number of excellent top quality TV shows, mini-series, and movies. After moving into my new apartment and finally being able to put CATV back into my budget, I made sure I got the right package deal from Cox to include AMC, which for me is the “Economy” TV package deal with their new “All Digital” service. Plus Internet access on the “Essential” deal. “Economy” TV includes The History Channel. I’ve got all the channels that I most watched at my former address.

I’m grateful AMC is today having a marathon of this final season episodes – I’d missed some of them, so I’m getting caught up this Saturday afternoon. Between the next to last episode and the last episode AMC is showing the 2010 version of the movie True Grit, which follows the original novel much closer than the 1969 version and has a very different ending. I liked the ending of the 1969 version better, which stared John Wayne, and was more fun. The 2010 version, staring Jeff Bridges, does have a darker and more realistic ending as if it were based on true history and real people. I’ve always liked westerns almost as much as I’ve liked adventure and science fiction. It wouldn’t be Saturday without a good western on TV.

Hell On Wheels – Wikipedia Article

Hell On Wheels Season 5 – Wikipedia Article

From TV Guide…

Hell on Wheels

Done 8:00 PM (Central Time) on AMC, 1 hour 5 minutes, 2016 – TV-14

“In the series finale, the golden spike, government hearings and unpredictable actions mean new beginnings and endings for the survivors.”

The actors, characters, stories, and series . . . will be missed.

Raises the question: What amazing TV series will AMC come up with next? I’ll be looking forward to it.

Categories: Entertainment, Special Articles, TV | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Comments/Feedback:

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

