Cold front, storms, significant straight-line wind damage in Oklahoma

Special Report by Jim Lantern, Lantern Timeglass Journal, 3:45pm CT Thursday 14 July 2016

The Weather Channel reporting and showing significant straight-line winds damage across Oklahoma with the cold front and resulting storms.

Here in Norman, about a 30-minute drive south of Oklahoma City, the first wave of storms missed us passing to the north as they headed east-southeast and expanding east-northeast. Next wave expected to be about sunset will likely hit here.

I wasn’t expecting such a major drop in temperature. I was sitting here concerned about the 3pm-7pm peak hours, during which if I run the air conditioner it can double my bill for this 24 hours. I prepay electric, and use myusage.com to monitor usage daily, which has helped me to manage and reduce use when I need to. Anyway, I noticed the mail truck pull up for US mail delivery to the apartments complex I live at. I stepped outside and a cold gust of wind nearly blew me off of my feet. Cold wind. Cold air. Unexpected. Cold fronts this time of year usually don’t make that much difference. The temperature dropped about 20 degrees in just a few minutes, with wind 20 gusting 30-40. Now as I write this the cold front has passed and the wind has dropped to nearly calm. Now that the dust has settled, I have the doors and windows open to let in the cool fresh air. Certainly no need for using the air conditioner now.

The forecasted rain with the t-storms tonight likely to be the last for at least the next 10-14 days. A heat wave is forecasted to hit middle of next week resulting in 100F+ daytime highs and near 80F+ nighttime lows.

Tonight Forecast Update: Severe thunderstorms, possible tornadoes, tennisball size hail, winds up to 80 mph, low about 68F.

Most irritating earlier today was something irritating my eyes – apparently high grass pollen. Then after the cold front came through and I opened up the doors and windows, a major invasion of very aggressive houseflies – and then I got the fly spray into my face but at least it got them away from me, along with use of Deep Woods OFF! spray.

4:30pm CT… Now the sun is out and temperature going back up. Crazy weather.

Categories: Special Reports | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Comments/Feedback:

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

