Ride with Norman Reedus – on AMC TV

Entertainment

Sunday 26 June 2016

On TV tonight, excerpted from TV Guide…

Ride with Norman Reedus

Appalachia: Blue Ridge Parkway
9:00 PM (Central Time) on AMC 33, 1 hour, 2016, TV-14

“Norman Reedus travels from Atlanta to Asheville, North Carolina.”

Excerpts from Wikipedia…

  • Ride with Norman Reedus is an American travel series that premiered on AMC on June 12, 2016. The series follows The Walking Dead star and motorcycle enthusiast Norman Reedus where he and a guest of the week travel across a different destination on a motorcycle while exploring the city’s biker culture and checking out various locales.
  • AMC ordered the series on October 29, 2015 with a premiere date set for June 2016. The idea came from AMC president of original programming Joe Stillerman who called Reedus about doing a show about his love for motorcycles in which Reedus replied “Yes, yes, yes right away” before Stillerman can change his mind. Reedus picks the ride companion for each episode due to their history and location, like Peter Fonda whose known for appearing in the film Easy Rider.

My Personal Notes…

Tonight will be the first time I watch this TV series – having missed previous episodes. Tonight is the third episode of the first season.

I’ve been a fan of Norman Reedus, and the Daryl Dixon character he plays on The Walking Dead, since its first season. One of the main characters who hasn’t been killed off yet. I bought a poster recently at Hastings – a bookstore that also has a vast variety of entertainment merchandise, where I now buy or rent DVDs for movies, music, and TV. I actually buy books there now once-in-a-while, usually paperback novels – more interested now in adventure and political thrillers than in science fiction (my usual favorite genre). The Walking Dead is my number one favorite TV series of all time. Daryl Dixon is my favorite character, so I hope he survives for many more seasons…

…Who died at the end of season six? Who survived?

By the way, I never read the original printed comic series. Here’s a copy of the poster I bought…

I’ve also bought a ball cap with “SURVIVE” in big letters on the front, and “The Walking Dead AMC” in small letters on the back…

…Having survived my own disaster during 2015, loss of home and briefly out on the street homeless until I finally acquired affordable housing in November 2015. I missed most of the recent season of The Walking Dead, so I’m hoping AMC will do the usual marathon of previous season episodes before the start of the new season in October 2016.

As for the Ride with Norman Reedus series, I can partly identify with it to some extent in a different way. Born in March 1956, I bought my first motorcycle at age 14 in 1970, when I started working part time after school and on Saturdays then full time summers, and joined BSA Motorcycle Explorer Post 770 where I lived in Wichita Kansas. I had street legal motorcycles, but designed for off-road riding, also known as trail riding. I especially liked hill climbing, and modified my motorcycles for that – as well as late-August vacations in the Colorado Springs area (Garden of the Gods) for trail riding in the high altitude of the mountains. The last motorcycle I had was a Suzuki 400, street legal – but made for trail riding and modified by me for high altitude mountain trails riding. That was in 1986, August, and then getting my first bleeding stomach ulcers changed my life – changed my profession, social life, and caused other changes. I did crash a few times between 1970-1986. The two worst crashes destroyed the motorcycles, but amazingly did not hurt me! It was milder crashes that hurt me, and one of those nearly killed me – a trip to the hospital – treated and released – so it was just a mild case of death. There’s an idea – for a spin-off of The Walking Dead – to title it The Riding Dead – zombies on motorcycles. Probably closer to the truth – I believe I’ve already seen a few of those characters over the years!

Tonight is not a normal TV viewing night for me. 7:00pm CT I’ll watch Celebrity Family Feud on ABC TV, then at 8:00pm CT is The Last Ship on TNT TV, and finally at 9:00pm CT is Ride with Norman Reedus on AMC TV. That’s a good lineup. Now all I need is some extra butter popcorn and Dr Pepper!

Categories: Entertainment | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Comments/Feedback:

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

