FEAR

I was born 5 March 1956 – turn age 60 this coming March 5th. I registered to vote at age 18 in 1974. Because my parents were Republicans (and in the oil business with wells in Kansas and Oklahoma) I first registered as a Republican. But was I really a Republican? No! I didn’t like the way upper class blue book social snobs looked down on and treated people of lower incomes. Also, I had a liberal side from my interest in science fiction. My conservative side was more down-to-earth. Even so, over the years, most of my friends, coworkers, and employers were Democrats, and they treated me better than Republicans. Then in 1994, Newt Gingrich spoke at a Rotary Club meeting, said, “Welfare people should be forced to live in tent cities until they earn the right to live in normal housing.” I didn’t like the words “forced” and “earn the right” in his statement. Fact is, considering horrible living conditions I’ve seen, some people would be better off living in a tent. Anyway, I rushed over to the courthouse and changed my political affiliation to Democrat. Then I found the Kansas Democrats to be in a useless state of anarchy, which I could not tolerate. A friend recommended I change to be registered as an Independent (unaffiliated voter), and so I did, and have been since then in 1995. I average out to be Centrist by agreeing with Conservatives on some issues while agreeing with Liberals on other issues, similar to Libertarians but not as extreme right or extreme left as they are.

Some of what I feared might someday be done by the far right Conservative Republicans, such as to low-income people, now appears to instead being done by far left Liberal Democrats – or rather Statists pretending to be Liberals or Progressive Democrats, like wolves in sheep’s clothing. I have no doubt President Obama is a Statist. I believe Hillary Clinton is a totalitarian Orwellian Statist on steroids and would be a dictator if elected, much worse than Obama.

Since 1974, Barack Obama is the first U.S. President to have caused me to feel fear. It is because of events in July 2011…

12 July 2011 – NEW YORK (CNN Money) — President Obama issued a broadside Tuesday in the debt ceiling debate, saying in a high-profile interview that he cannot ensure government benefits — including Social Security — will be paid if Congress fails to act.

“I cannot guarantee that those checks go out on August 3rd if we haven’t resolved this issue. Because there may simply not be the money in the coffers to do it,” Obama told CBS News.

This is not the first time the administration has warned that Social Security benefits are on the line. But it is the first time Obama has addressed the issue so pointedly.

Treasury Secretary Tim Geithner warned Congress as early as Jan. 6 that benefit checks might not be paid in full and on time.

In another letter in May, Geithner reiterated the point: “A broad range of government payments would have to be stopped, limited or delayed, including military salaries, Social Security and Medicare payments, interest on debt, unemployment benefits and tax refunds.”

Geithner has said that by Aug. 2 he will no longer have enough money on hand every day to pay all the government’s bills.

The government reached the legal borrowing limit on May 16 and has been taking “extraordinary measures” since to keep the country out of default.

On Aug. 3, the federal government will be forced to start prioritizing payments. And that just happens to be a day when a big set of Social Security checks are scheduled to be mailed out. Some 60 million Americans receive Social Security benefits each month.

The Treasury also has to ensure it has enough cash on hand to make a $29 billion interest payment to investors on Aug. 15.

Consequently, the government would have to defer 44% of federal spending, a significant portion of the 80 million payments it makes every month, according to a study conducted by the Bipartisan Policy Center, a think tank in Washington founded by four former Democratic and Republican Senate majority leaders.

…If not paid August 3rd, I’d have become homeless then, and bad health with disability would quickly have caused my death. The threat came from Obama, not from the Republicans. He was willing to sacrifice millions of Americans if not getting his way. Shocking to me that a Democrat would dare to do that. But then, discovering he is not really a Democrat, but is a brutal Statist. He really didn’t care who got hurt. And, by the way, Obama Care is not health care, but rather money care – what the government will do with the money of its citizens. Money first. Health care last, if any at all.

Could it get worse during Obama’s final year?

IF THIS GOES ON—

Excerpts from Wikipedia article…

  • “If This Goes On—” is a science fiction short novel by Robert A. Heinlein, first serialized in 1940 in Astounding Science-Fiction and revised and expanded for inclusion in the 1953 collection Revolt in 2100. The novel shows what might happen to Christianity in the United States given mass communications, applied psychology, and a hysterical populace. The novel is part of Heinlein’s Future History series.
  • The story is set in a future theocratic American society, ruled by the latest in a series of fundamentalist Christian “Prophets.” The First Prophet was Nehemiah Scudder, a backwoods preacher turned President (elected in 2012), then dictator (no elections were held in 2016 or later).

The following paragraphs have been excerpted from the 1986 Baen Book printing of Robert A. Heinlein’s novel titled “Revolt in 2100” –from the story titled “If This Goes On—”:

Successful revolution is big business – make no mistake about that. In a modern, complex, and highly industrialized state, revolution is not accomplished by a handful of conspirators whispering around a guttering candle in a deserted ruin. It requires countless personnel, supplies, modern machinery and modern weapons. And to handle these factors successfully there must be loyalty, secrecy, and superlative organization.

I was kept busy but my work was fill-in work, since I was awaiting assignment. I had time to dig into the library and I looked up Tom Paine, which led me to Patrick Henry and Thomas Jefferson and others – a whole new world was opened up to me. I had trouble at first in admitting the possibility of what I read; I think perhaps  of all things a police state  can do to its citizens, distorting history is possibly the most pernicious. For example, I learned for the first time that the United States had not been ruled by a bloodthirsty emissary of Satan before the First Prophet arose in his wrath and cast him out – but had been a community of free men deciding their own affairs by peaceful consent. I don’t mean that the first republic had been a scriptural paradise, but it hadn’t been anything like what I had learned in school.

For the first time in my life I was reading things which had not been approved by the Prophet’s censors, and the impact on my mind was devastating. Sometimes I would glance over my shoulder to see who was watching me, frightened in spit of myself. I began to sense faintly that secrecy is the keystone of all tyranny. Not force, but secrecy . . . censorship. When any government, or any church for that matter, undertakes to say to its subjects, “This you may not read, this you must not see, this you are forbidden to know,” the end result is tyranny and oppression, no matter how holy the motives. Mighty little force is needed to control a man whose mind has been hoodwinked; contrariwise, no amount of force can control a free man, a man whose mind is free. No, not the rack, not fission bombs, not anything—you can’t conquer a free man; the most you can do is kill him.

My thoughts did not then fall into syllogisms; my head was filled with an inchoate spate of new ideas, each more exciting than the last. I discovered that travel between the planets, almost a myth in my world, had not stopped because the First Prophet had forbidden it as a sin against the omnipotence of God; it had ceased because it had gone into the red financially and the Prophet’s government would not subsidize it. There was even an implied statement that the “infidels” (I still used that word in my mind) still sent out an occasional research ship and that there were human beings even now on Mars and Venus.

…Maybe someday the United States would have space ships again…

…Meantime, adding to the fear now in 2016, with significant religious overtones – related to the ISIS threat – of a major political issue, Obama is letting in more refugees – over 10,000 Syrians, an immigration issue. Many people in the United States are worried about terrorists sneaking in through refugee programs. Fact is, they are simply walking through a wide open door. For the first time, now in January 2016, I’m beginning to notice foreigners, especially Middle Eastern, where I live, causing me to feel concern – not yet fear. Donald Trump refused to budge over his call to ban all Muslims from entering the US – “I want security for this country. We have a serious problem with radical Islam. We have a tremendous problem. It’s not only a problem here. It’s a problem all over the world,” Mr Trump said.

How can I fight the fear? The answer is: VOTE FOR TRUMP!

+ + +

Categories: Editorial Articles, Election 2016, Government, Political Issues, Political Parties, Politics, Religion, Religion in Science Fiction, Religious Issues | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Comments/Feedback:

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

