Allergies and Asthma less in Nevada compared to Kansas and Oklahoma, but stomach ulcers just as bad!

LANTERN TIMEGLASS JOURNAL

Jim Lantern

2:30 p.m. Pacific Time, Monday – 3 August 2015

I was born 1956 in Wichita Kansas. I’ve had allergies and bronchial asthma all of my life.

It was worse 3 May 2008 to 2 May 2012 while I lived in Norman Oklahoma.

Since moving to Reno Nevada – arrived 4 May 2015, allergies and asthma have been nearly nonexistent. I did have some “cold air asthma” during the cold morning walks to a nearby 7-Eleven for the first 4 weeks here. Days were warm, but nights were cold. I’ve only had one allergy attack with severe symptoms when tree pollen count was very high during one day here so far, near the end of June.

The supply of allergy medicines, and Primatene Tablets for asthma attacks, which I brought with me from Norman Oklahoma, have not yet become depleted. So I’ve not yet had to spend any money on those two health disorders since moving to Reno Nevada.

My first stomach ulcers began in 1986 at age 30.

Having left the stressful situation of the apartments complex I lived at for 7 years in Norman, having been sold and to be bulldozed, I expected my stomach ulcers to decrease or stop altogether. However, to some extent, as far as housing is concerned, although coming here saved my life – saved me from becoming homeless, it has been like “going from the frying pan into the fire” as the old saying goes – or maybe not that bad but from the fire into the frying pan here. Thus, my stomach ulcers have been just as bad here as there. I’ve spent a lot of money on milk to reduce pain and aid healing, as nothing else worked. Then near the end of July, I tried a nonprescription drug that had failed in the past. This time it worked, and worked well – Ranitidine. Maybe the difference this time is I’m using a pill crusher that grinds the pills to dust, which I bought for about $7 at CVS in Norman. Because of damage to my esophagus I can’t swallow pills – they get stuck in my esophagus until they dissolve – very uncomfortable. Crushing the pills gets them down, and with faster relief. The cost of a box of 24 (1 every 12 hours for 12 days) is same as a gallon of milk (only good for 2 to 4 days of treatment). The cost – the total money I spent on this disorder during July – was more than I’d budgeted – so I nearly ran out of food! Down to only 3 cans of soup during the last 3 days of July. I got dizzy and nearly blacked out in the checkout line of a nearby market during the morning of Saturday August 1st when I got more money to buy more food and general supplies. I have no doubt now August will be a better health month for me, and much less costly. Since first good meal Saturday, this month has been off to a good start.

Meantime, the genetic rejects, possibly the beginning of the Zombie Apocalypse, who hang out in this downtown Reno neighborhood, continue to walk past the low monthly rent kitchenette motel I live at, eyeing me like hungry cannibals. Most of them are out walking their dogs – or the dogs are out walking them. Perhaps the dogs are not too hungry, considering the number of vanishing cats in the neighborhood.

By the way, yesterday – Sunday August 2nd, I walked over to a nearby Walgreens. I bought a Zero Gravity Chair for only $53 including tax. Low enough weight I was able to carry it home. (“Zero Gravity” chair.) However, I did have to stop and rest once, while drinking water from a bottle I carried. I sat in the Zero Gravity Chair on a sidewalk while doing that. Got odd looks from drivers and passengers in cars going by me there. I had a Zero Gravity Chair when I lived in Norman, but could not bring it with me to Reno. Most comfortable chair I’ve ever sat in. Comfortable enough to sleep on when reclined. Back at home here Sunday, I put it in front of the TV, then turned on AMC to watch the rerun of a whole season of The Walking Dead. Thus I sat in great comfort while watching the end of the world on TV.

The first Republican Presidential Forum in New Hampshire on C-Span is about an hour away as I write this. It will be on here from 3:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. Pacific Time. My biological clock has not fully made the adjustment from Central Time to Pacific Time. While living in Central Time most of my life, my biological clock was usually running on Eastern Time. So now the biological clock lag is worse here living in Pacific Time. I hear news about the political forum “tonight” – an hour away at 6:30 p.m. Eastern Time. Feels like that to me here now, as if it should be dinner time for me, as I watch the live event on TV. Perhaps the forum as a kind of debate will help voters to decide who the future leader of the Zombie Apocalypse in the “free world” will be. Getting ready for it, I’m going to fix a sandwich, without the sand of course. Just the witch, please – I mean the wich? Ham, cheese, lettuce, mayo, mustard. No sand of a sandwich. The sand would be bad for my esophagus and stomach. Then I’d become a zombie.

+ + +

Categories: Health, Health care | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

