The Year of the Cat and Time Passages

Timeglass Journal

Jim Lantern

25 July 2015

My primary profession spanning 10 years from 1976 to 1986 was repairing pinball games, video games, jukeboxes, etc. I often ran service calls at bars and nightclubs.

During 1977 that profession included me being the owner and manager of a small arcade and snack bar. I had pinball games, video games, pool tables, foosball tables, and a juke box.

The Year of the Cat was released in October 1976 (just in time for Halloween) in the US. It hit #8 on Billboard’s Hot 100 in March 1977 when I turned age 21.

I feel this song so strongly – even today – that it is as if I could step through a doorway across time and space into the arcade in 1977 and hear it playing on the jukebox there…

The Year of the Cat – Al Stewart

…And considering the feeling that I could travel back in time to that place, then released in September 1978 is the song Time Passages, reaching #7 on Billboard’s Hot 100 in December 1978…

Time Passages – Al Stewart

Categories: Calendar Events, Entertainment, History, Music, Music Videos, Songs | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

