Email Irritations: POLL – Ban the sending of “no-reply” emails?

Timeglass Journal

Email Irritations: POLL – Ban the sending of “no-reply” emails?

Editorial Article and Poll

by Jim Lantern

Posted 10:45 a.m. PT Thursday 21 May 2015

“Please note that this is a no-reply email. If you have additional questions, please visit our Help Center…”

I really hate getting “no-reply” emails from businesses, government, and others. I actually dislike it more than spam emails.

More often than not, “no-reply” emails I get, especially recently from voice-noreply@google.com for example, contain flawed information, but there’s no way to reply to let them know the information is flawed.

Hit and run tactics. They can bother me, but they can’t be bothered by me. The can take up my time, but they don’t want me taking up their time.

Some of the “no-reply” emails ask for me to call a 1-800 number to talk to Customer Service. Usually, that means idiots at a call center in India who are not as well-trained as monkeys.

monkeyservice

Also, I have to wonder what they want to say over a phone that they are unwilling to put in writing. I prefer to have a written record of communications, which can’t later be denied.

I believe “no-reply” emails should be illegal. I believe all emails users should have the legal right to reply by email to anyone sending an email. “Customer Service” should be a two-way communication, not a one-way communication.

POLL

Ban the sending of “no-reply” emails?

+ + +

Categories: Business, Communications, Editorial Articles, Government, Internet, Laws, Poll | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Comments/Feedback:

Blog at WordPress.com.

