April Showers – Life Giving Rain

Timeglass Journal

Jim Lantern

11:30 a.m. CT Sunday 5 April 2015

April Showers – Life Giving Rain

This Easter Sunday, I was awakened at 4:00 a.m. by the sound of rain.

I remember a weekend, long ago, perhaps in April 1963 at age 7, when there was steady all-day-long moderate to heavy rain. I lived in a big house but single level with a flat roof, a big half-circle driveway in front. The kind of old neighborhood where the streets are barely paved, no curbs, deep ditches. Lots of trees, bushes, plants and very green grass yards. I’d pulled a chair over by one of the low front windows, and leaned forward to rest my arms on the big windowsill. I watched the rain, early afternoon. Water flowing off of trees and bushes, filling the deep ditches. Sound of life. The life-giving water. So much water. So much life. Mesmerizing. My mother noticed. She remarked, “I know you’d prefer to be outside. You look bored. I know something you can do…” I replied, “No. I like this. Watching the rain. So much life out there. It’s . . . beautiful.” She was surprised by that. She came over to the window, standing behind me, looking out. “Yes . . . it is beautiful.” She was born February 24. I was born March 5. Pisces on the horoscope, zodiac, one of the water signs. My sister, 8 years older, was born February 6, an Aquarius. My father, quite different, a Leo, was born in August. They are gone now, to another place, where there is more life than will ever be found here on Earth.

The proverb “March winds and April showers bring forth May flowers”, first recorded in 1886, or the shorter, trochaic version “April showers bring May flowers” (originally “Sweet April showers/Do spring May flowers”, part of a poem recorded in 1610) are common expressions in English speaking countries.

Or, if you prefer something more recent…

For children (of all ages)…

Raindrops…

Rainy Day People…

Rainy Days and Mondays…

Rainy Night in Georgia…

It Never Rains in Southern California…

The Beatles make it Rain…

A special mention, Aquarius…

Tears in the Rain – Blade Runner…

Another special mention, some rain in this old favorite…

+ + +

Categories: Calendar Events, Climate, Entertainment, Environment, Music, Music Videos, Songs, Weather | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Comments/Feedback:

Blog at WordPress.com.